Horses that belong to one owner or under one trainer, running on the same race, are "coupled" together. This means that when you bet on one you also get the other horse added to your wager for no additional charge. They will be listed with the same number with the first available letter added to the second coupled horse.
Example: Horses 1 and 1A would be considered a coupled pair. If there are multiple pairs of coupled entries the next pair will be listed as 2, 2B, then 3, 3C, and so on. More than 1 set of coupled entries is uncommon and more than 2 is very rare.
Please note, foreign tracks may list coupled entries differently.
As coupled runners are automatically listed on the same bet slip, this means that if either horse wins your wager will be deemed a winning wager.
If both horses finish in the money then the higher payout that is due will be applied when that wager has settled.
For clarification regarding how coupled runners appear in standings, please note that if both couple runners finish in the money-- in a Trifecta wager, the 4th spot finisher will be marked as 3rd. Whereas for a Superfecta wager the 5th spot finisher will be marked as 4th.
If you placed a wager on a horse that is part of a coupled entry and your horse scratches, your selections coupled runner will take its place in the wager. If both are scratched then the Scratched Runner Rules for that wager type will apply.
In French racing coupled runners are connected by letter, not number. For example, instead of a 1 and 1A, there could be a 7A and 9A. A second set of coupled runners would end with a B. They can be different places in the card like 8a/12a or 4b/9b.